2013 - 2014 passport season
Subscribers' Benefits
Brining the Art to the Audience... Staged readings and more
LHT Productions
Our Administrative Team
Our Mission
Our History
Past Productions
Beyond L H T S F -- Outside projects
Support L H T S F -- our sponsors
Producer's Circle -- Individual donors
Giving Opportunities
Get Involved!
FacebookTwitterPinterestYou TubeYelp!
Press Releases

2013 2014 Passport Season
Bringing the Art to the Audience: Staged Readings and More
SubscribeLHT Productions
BlogAbout L H T S FSupport L H T S F
Subscriber BenefitsGet InvolvedPress

FacebookTwitterYou TubeYelp!

Our History

Founded in 1981 by the late Stanley E. Williams, founding Artistic Director, and the late Quentin Easter, founding Executive Director, LHT performed for seven seasons in numerous venues around San Francisco. In 1988, LHT’s first home opened in the Landmark YWCA building at 620 Sutter Street. The tenancy ended at the end of the 2007-2008 season due to the Academy of Art University’s acquisition of the building. LHT relocated its business office to 777 Jones Street in Nob Hill. In June 2011, current Artistic DIrector, Steven Anthony Jones, announced a new theatre location at 450 Post Street, in the heart of the Union Square Theatre District. At the end of the 2011-2012 season, LHT announced plans to vacate 450 Post Street, in favor of two new programs called "The LHT Partnership Series," and "Bringing the Art to the Audience." LHT continues to maintain office space at 777 Jones Street.

LHT boasts one of the most eclectic audiences of any theater in the region. LHT has produced more than 130 plays, including west coast and world premieres, experimental works, classics in the African-American canon, lively musicals, and poignant socio-political dramas. LHT’s presentations range from the works of Nobel Laureates Wole Soyinka, Derek Walcott, and Toni Morrison to Pulitzer Prize-winning writers Charles Fuller, Alice Walker and August Wilson; to large-scale musicals celebrating Duke Ellington, Bessie Smith, Lester Young, Fats Waller, Eubie Blake and others; to award winning dramas by James Baldwin, Langston Hughes, and our namesake Lorraine Hansberry; to pioneering experimental theatre artists Adrienne Kennedy, Ntozake Shange and Maria Irene Fornes, and new works by Robert Alexander, Roger Guenveur Smith, David Rousseve Prince Gomolvilas and others.

Bringing the Art to the Audience

Our Mission

The core mission of Lorraine Hansberry Theatre (LHT) is to promote the performing arts. LHT presents plays by America's foremost African-American and multicultural playwrights; provides employment and career-building opportunities for actors, directors, designers, and technicians; and fosters youth development and education through workshops and outreach. LHT distinguishes itself as an eclectic learning community, sustained by both rigor and creativity. LHT draws from aesthetic, cultural and economic resources of the San Francisco Bay Area to enrich and strengthen the performing arts.

Administrative Team

Steven Anthony Jones
Artistic Director • steven@LHTSF.org
download Steve's v-card

Marc Pâquette
consultant • marc@LHTSF.org
download Marc's v-card

Gina Snow
Manager of Subscriber Development • gina@LHTSF.org
download Gina's v-card

Albert Dixon
Accounting/Financve • bookkeeping@LHTSF.org

Board of Directors

Dan Cole, President
Russell Stanaland, Secretary
John Burris
Steven Anthony Jones
Ishmael Reed
Stephanie Shoffner
Dr. Brenda Wade

Founding Directors

Stanley E. Williams
Artistic Director — 1981–2010

Quentin Easter
Executive Director — 1981–2010